The Tomsk enterprise of SIBUR “Tomskneftekhim” is a large polymer producer and a socially responsible enterprise
It is very easy to find out if you have ever used Tomskneftekhim polymer products. If you buy diapers, baby toys, medical masks, most likely their packaging is made of Tomsk polymers.
If you have food containers, bowls and buckets made of plastic at home, they are probably also from the raw materials of Tomskneftekhim. As well as polypropylene pipes, non-woven fabric for roads, food packaging and a huge number of other things.
We talked about how monomers and polymers are produced at a petrochemical plant earlier in this article. Now we will talk about where Tomsk polymers are sent, and what useful things are produced from them.

Polyethylene vs polypropylene

The most common and popular polymers are polypropylene and polyethylene. Tomskneftekhim produces both, but at different plants and in different conditions. To create polyethylene, you need a temperature, like in the mouth of a volcano, and the pressure is twice as much as at the bottom of the Mariana Trench. And for polypropylene, nothing of the kind is required: the temperature and pressure are slightly higher than in a water tap. The resulting materials are similar, but differ in properties, each of which is ideal for the production of different items.

What’s the other difference between polyethylene and polypropylene?

Polyethylene and polypropylene are divided into grades that are used to solve different production problems. For example, the SIBEX PP H451 IM grade is characterized by high transparency and is suitable for the manufacture of medical syringes. For the production of pipes for hot and cold water supply, the SIBEX PP R003EX brand is used. For hygiene products – SIBEX PP H263 FF. For the production of Tomsk BOPP film used in the food industry and not only, the polypropylene grade SIBEX PP H031 BF is used. For bottles and tubes for cosmetics, the SIBEX PP R018 BM brand, specially designed for the production of hollow products, is suitable. In general, there is a brand for every occasion!

How does a new brand start?

Currently, Tomskneftekhim produces 14 grades of polymer products. In total, the company is capable of producing 60 different types of brands for the needs of different customers.
– The process of developing new brands is as complex as it is interesting, and is always focused on changing the requirements of our customers. There are several directions for starting work, of which the main one is the prospect of occupying a certain segment of the processing market (new productions), the need to improve any characteristics of finished products or the processability of the material and ensuring the specific requirements of some processors of our products, – explained Konstantin Koryakin.
In the process of developing a new brand or changing the characteristics of existing ones, employees of NIOSTA, the R&D center of SIBUR and the first resident of the Tomsk SEZ, take part.

What things are made of Tomsk polymers?

What can be produced from polymers, we figured out. And what specific goods are produced from raw materials produced at Tomskneftekhim? We learned about this from Russian manufacturers, customers of the enterprise.
Every day we bring home from the store polymers produced by Tomskneftekhim. It’s just that the most diverse packaging is made of them. One of the manufacturers of such packaging is the Novosibirsk company “Neo-Pak”. Its products include flexible packaging for bulk products (cereals, pasta, spices), household chemicals (cleaning, washing powders, etc.), dry construction mixtures, as well as mayonnaise, milk, ice cream and much more. How is this packaging made? First, raw materials in the form of polymer granules are supplied to the manufacturer’s plant from Tomskneftekhim. These granules in the process of extrusion (the formation of a polymer melt and its subsequent cooling) turn into a film, on which an image is applied using printing machines. Next comes the lamination stage – gluing two or three films of different types that have different characteristics and complement each other. The colored layer is located between the layers of other materials, which excludes contact of ink with products, and also protects the print from damage. The film is then cut to size and shape. The final stage is the packaging of the finished product.

Томское предприятие СИБУРа «Томскнефтехим» — крупный производитель полимеров и социально ответственное предприятие
Узнать, пользовались ли вы когда-нибудь полимерной продукцией «Томскнефтехима», очень легко. Если вы покупаете подгузники, детские игрушки, медицинские маски,— скорее всего, их упаковка сделана из томских полимеров.
Если у вас дома есть пищевые контейнеры, тазики и ведра из пластика — вероятно, они тоже из сырья «Томскнефтехима». А также полипропиленовые трубы, нетканое полотно для дорог, упаковка для продуктов и огромное количество других вещей.
О том, как на нефтехимическом предприятии производят мономеры и полимеры, мы рассказывали ранее в этом материале. Сейчас же речь пойдет о том, куда отправляются томские полимеры, и какие полезные вещи из них выпускают.

Полиэтилен vs полипропилен

Самые распространенные и востребованные полимеры — это полипропилен и полиэтилен. «Томскнефтехим» производит и то, и другое, но на разных установках и в разных условиях. Для создания полиэтилена нужна температура, как в жерле вулкана, и давление в два раза больше, чем на дне Марианской впадины. А для полипропилена ничего такого не требуется: температура и давление чуть выше, чем в водопроводном кране. Получаются близкие, но различающиеся по свойствам материалы, каждый из которых идеально подходит для производства разных предметов.

В чем еще разница между полиэтиленом и полипропиленом?

Полиэтилен и полипропилен подразделяются на марки, которые используются для решения разных производственных задач. Например, марка SIBEX PP H451 IM характеризуется высокой прозрачностью и подходит для изготовления медицинских шприцев. Для производства труб горячего и холодного водоснабжения используется марка SIBEX PP R003ЕХ. Для гигиенических изделий — SIBEX PP H263 FF. Для производства томской БОПП-пленки, используемой в пищевой индустрии и не только, используется марка полипропилена SIBEX PP H031 BF. Для бутылочек и тюбиков под косметику подойдет марка SIBEX PP R018 BM, специально предназначенная для производства полых изделий. В общем, на любой случай жизни есть своя марка!

Как начинают выпуск новой марки?

В настоящее время на «Томскнефтехиме» производится 14 марок полимерной продукции. Всего же предприятие способно выпускать 60 различных видов марок под потребности разных клиентов.
— Процесс разработки новых марок насколько же сложен, настолько и интересен, и всегда ориентирован на изменение требований наших клиентов. Есть несколько направлений для начала работы, из которых основное — это перспектива занять определенный сегмент рынка переработки (новые производства), необходимость улучшения каких-либо характеристик готовых изделий или перерабатываемость материала и обеспечение точечных требований некоторых переработчиков нашей продукции, — пояснил Константин Корякин.
В процессе разработки новой марки или изменении характеристик уже существующих принимают участие сотрудники НИОСТА — R&D-центра СИБУРа и первого резидента томской ОЭЗ.

Какие вещи сделаны из томских полимеров?

Что можно производить из полимеров, мы разобрались. А какие конкретно товары выпускают из сырья, произведенного на «Томскнефтехиме»? Об этом мы узнали у российских производителей, клиентов предприятия.
Мы каждый день приносим домой из магазина полимеры, которые производит «Томскнефтехим». Просто из них сделана самая разнообразная упаковка. Один из производителей такой упаковки — новосибирская компания «Нео-Пак». Среди его продукции — гибкая упаковка для сыпучих продуктов (крупы, макароны, специи), бытовой химии (чистящие, стиральные порошки и т.д.), сухих строительных смесей, а также майонеза, молока, мороженого и многого другого. Как производится эта упаковка? Сначала на завод производителя с «Томскнефтехима» поступает сырье в виде полимерных гранул. Эти гранулы в процессе экструзии (формирования полимерного расплава и его последующего охлаждения) превращаются в пленку, на которую с помощью печатных машин наносится изображение. Далее идет этап ламинации — склеивание двух или трех пленок разных типов, которые обладают разными характеристиками и дополняют друг друга. Цветной слой находится между слоями других материалов, что исключает контакт краски с продукцией, а также защищает печать от повреждений. Затем пленка режется по размеру и форме. Конечный этап — упаковка готового продукта.