The European Council (the highest political body of the European Union) has approved the introduction of the “plastic tax” from January 1, 2021, Rupec reports, citing the press service of the European Association of Recyclers (EuPC).

For one kilogram of unrefined plastic waste, the EU member states will pay EUR0.8 to the EU budget.

The organizations gave different assessments of the new bill. The EC assessed the new tax as “a contribution to the EU budget aimed at stimulating an increase in the processing of plastic waste.” At the same time, representatives of the European Association of Processors note that it can have the opposite effect. Further fiscal action is not the most effective tool to stimulate the innovation and investment that is needed to achieve the intended goals of the Green Deal policy.

“Since the EU’s plastic tax revenues are not intended to invest in waste disposal and recycling infrastructure, this will not increase the recycling of plastic waste in Europe,” said EuPC managing director Alexander Dangis.

In his opinion, this will lead to a further increase in the cost of plastic recycling and will facilitate the transition to other packaging materials with a large impact on the environment. To truly improve recycling rates across Europe and protect the environment, taxing the disposal of plastic packaging waste is required, he said.

For example, improving the recycling of plastic packaging requires significant investment throughout the plastics value chain. These are investments in innovation, new equipment, in the development of eco-friendly design of plastic packaging, etc.

The expected revenues from the new tax will be about EUR 6-8 billion a year, it is noteworthy that these funds will not be used to invest in a circular economy.

It was previously reported that waste from the fight against COVID 19 has exacerbated plastic pollution. COVID-19 quarantines in various countries have led to a sharp 5% reduction in greenhouse gas emissions, but used masks, protective gloves and disinfectant bottles have increased plastic pollution in the environment, according to a report published on Monday. United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).

Европейский совет (высший политический орган Евросоюза) утвердил введение «пластикового налога» с 1 января 2021 года, сообщает Rupec со ссылкой на пресс-службу европейской ассоциации переработчиков (EuPC).

С одного килограмма непереработанных пластиковых отходов государства-члены ЕС будут уплачивать EUR0,8 в бюджет ЕС.

Организации дали разные оценки новому законопроекту. ЕК оценила новый налог как «вклад в бюджет ЕС, направленный на стимулирование увеличения переработки пластиковых отходов». В то же время представители Европейской ассоциации переработчиков отмечают, что он может иметь противоположный эффект. Дальнейшие фискальные меры не являются самым эффективным инструментом для стимулирования инноваций и инвестиций, которые необходимы для достижения намеченных целей политики «Зеленого соглашения».

«Поскольку доходы от пластикового налога ЕС не предназначены для инвестирования в инфраструктуру утилизации и переработки отходов, это не увеличит переработку пластиковых отходов в Европе», — заявил управляющий директор EuPC Александр Дангис.

По его мнению, это приведет к дальнейшему увеличению затрат на переработку пластика и будет способствовать переходу на другие упаковочные материалы с большим воздействием на окружающую среду. Чтобы по-настоящему повысить показатели переработки по всей Европе и защитить окружающую среду, требуется налогообложение захоронения отходов пластиковой упаковки, убежден он.

Так, улучшение процесса переработки пластиковой упаковки требует значительных инвестиций по всей цепочке создания стоимости пластмасс. Это инвестиции в инновации, новое оборудование, в разработку экологичного дизайна пластиковой упаковки и тд.

Ожидаемые доходы от нового налога составят околоEUR 6-8 млрд в год, примечательно, что эти средства не будут использованы для инвестирования в экономику замкнутого цикла.

Ранее сообщалось, что отходы от борьбы с COVID 19 усилили загрязнение окружающей среды пластиком. Карантин, введенный в различных странах в связи с COVID-19, привел к резкому снижению выбросов парниковых газов на 5%, однако использованные маски, защитные перчатки и бутылки из-под дезинфицирующей жидкости усилили загрязнение пластиком окружающей среды, говорится в докладе, опубликованном в понедельник Конференцией ООН по торговле и развитию (ЮНКТАД).

Источник