In the new year, Malaysia sent 150 containers with garbage to the United States, Britain and France. In 2019, China imported 13.5 million tons of waste, which is 40% less than last year. This was announced by a representative of the Ministry of Environment of the PRC Liu Yubin. According to him, by 2021, the country plans to completely stop the import of garbage from abroad.

“We will make every effort to bring the waste import indicator to zero by the end of 2020,” said Liu Yubin.

Since 2017, China has banned the import of 56 types of waste. At the same time, the country launched a fight against “garbage smuggling” – attempts to illegally import waste into the PRC under the guise of various raw materials and goods.

Malaysia, in turn, began to return garbage to the countries that export it. So, during the third quarter of last year, the country returned 150 containers of garbage to 13 rich countries. Of the 150 containers, 43 were returned to France, 42 to the UK, 17 to the United States, 11 to Canada, 10 to Spain and the rest to Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, Portugal, China, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Lithuania.

Minister of the Environment Yo Bi Yin said that by mid-2020, the country will return another 110 containers (4120 tons). as part of the fight against smuggling garbage and the closure of more than 200 illegal plastic processing plants.

Yo said negotiations are underway with US authorities to return another 60 containers this year. Another 15 containers will also be returned to Canada, 14 to Japan, 9 to the United Kingdom, and 8 of 110 containers to Belgium, which are still located in the ports of Malaysia.

“Our position is very solid. We just want to send back (the waste), and we just want to make it clear that Malaysia is not the dump of the world,” Yo told reporters during an inspection at a port in the northern state of Penang. Every year, humanity adds more than 20 billion tons of carbon dioxide to the atmosphere. 20 billion tons of emissions per year, which are partially absorbed by the oceans, due to which it is gradually oxidized, and the rest will remain in the atmosphere and fall on our heads

Малайзия отправила в новом году 150 контейнеров с мусором в США, Великобританию и Францию. Китай в 2019 году импортировал 13,5 млн тонн отходов, что на 40% меньше чем в прошлом году. Об этом сообщил представитель Министерства окружающей среды КНР Лю Юбинь. По его словам, к 2021 году страна планирует полностью прекратить ввоз мусора из-за рубежа.

«Мы приложим все усилия к тому, чтобы к концу 2020 года довести показатель импорта отходов до нулевой отметки», — заявил Лю Юбинь.

С 2017 года Китай запретил для ввоза 56 видов отходов. Одновременно в стране была развернута борьба с «мусорной контрабандой» — попытками нелегального ввоза на территорию КНР отходов под видом различного сырья и товаров.

Малайзия в свою очередь начала возвращать мусор в страны, которые его экспортируют. Так, в течение третьего квартала прошлого года страна вернула 150 контейнеров с мусором в 13 богатых стран. Из 150 контейнеров 43 были возвращены во Францию, 42 в Великобританию, 17 в Соединенные Штаты, 11 в Канаду, 10 в Испанию и остальные в Гонконг, Японию, Сингапур, Португалию, Китай, Бангладеш, Шри-Ланку и Литву.

Министр окружающей среды Йо Би Инь заявил, что до середины 2020 года страна вернет еще 110 контейнеров ( 4120 тонн). в рамках борьбы с контрабандой мусором и закрытием более 200 незаконных заводов по переработке пластмасс.

Йо сказал, что с властями США ведутся переговоры о возвращении еще 60 контейнеров в этом году. В Канаду также вернут еще 15 контейнеров, в Японию 14, в Великобританию 9 и в Бельгию 8 из 110 контейнеров, которые все еще находятся в портах Малайзии.

«Наша позиция очень тверда. Мы просто хотим отправить обратно (отходы), и мы просто хотим дать понять, что Малайзия не является свалкой мира», — сказал Йо журналистам во время проверки в порту в северном штате Пенанг. Ежегодно человечество добавляет более 20 млрд т углекислого газа в атмосферу. 20 млрд т выбросов в год, которые частично поглощаются Мировым океаном, из-за чего он постепенно окисляется, а остальное останется в атмосфере и выпадает нам на голову.

Источник