Dow Europe, a subsidiary of international petrochemical giant Dow Chemical, announced a September price increase of EUR50 per tonne for all polyethylene (PE) grades on the European market, a source at the company told ICIS.

According to him, the real increase in PE prices was caused by reduced margins and consistently low material prices in Europe.

In August, there was a moderate upward trend in polyethylene prices, but at the beginning of the second half of the year, the upward momentum was lost and the difference between monomer and polymer prices narrowed.

According to the ICIS-MRC Price Survey, last week the buying activity on the Russian high-density polyethylene (LDPE) market dropped markedly. The sellers sold out all their volumes, and the processors took a break in purchases due to a serious rise in prices. The market is in short supply, and in September the presence of PE on the market will be even worse. On the market for low-density polyethylene (HDPE) in Russia, there was also a decline in demand. The rise in HDPE prices during August was not as serious as for LDPE, but even here it is difficult for some consumers to accept new price levels. However, manufacturers also plan to raise prices for September.

Dow Chemical is an American diversified chemical company headquartered in Midland, Michigan. It is a major manufacturer of polymer products, including polystyrene, polyurethane, polyethylene, polypropylene and synthetic rubbers. The company produces more than five thousand products at 188 production facilities in 37 countries.

Dow Europe, «дочка» международного нефтехимического гиганта Dow Chemical, объявила о повышении сентябрьских цен всех марок полиэтилена (ПЭ) на европейском рынке на EUR50 за тонну, сообщил ICIS источник в компании.

По его словам, настоящее увеличение цен ПЭ было вызвано сокращенной маржей и стабильно низкими ценами на материал в Европе.

В августе наблюдалась умеренная тенденция к росту цен на полиэтилен, но в начале второго полугодия повышательный импульс был упущен, и разница между ценами мономера и полимера уменьшилась.

Согласно Ценовому Обзору ICIS-MRC, на прошлой неделе покупательская активность на российском рынке полиэтилена высокого давления (ПВД) заметно спала. Продавцы распродали все свои объемы, да и переработчики взяли паузу в закупках из-за серьезного роста цен. Рынок дефицитен, и в сентябре с наличием ПЭ на рынке будет еще хуже. На рынке же полиэтилена низкого давления (ПНД) в России также отмечался спад спроса. Рост цен ПНД в течение августа был не таким серьезным, как по ПВД, но и здесь части потребителей сложно принять новые уровни цен. Тем не менее, на сентябрь производители также планируют повышение цен.

Dow Chemical — американская многоотраслевая химическая компания со штаб-квартирой в Мидлэнде, штат Мичиган. Является крупным производителем полимерной продукции, в том числе полистирола, полиуретана, полиэтилена, полипропилена и синтетических каучуков. Компания выпускает более пяти тысяч наименований продукции на 188 производственных объектах в 37 странах.