NOVA Chemicals, one of the world’s largest producers of polyolefins, announced an increase in prices of polyethylene (PE) by 4 cents per pound (USD88 per tonne) from September 1 of this year or as contracts permit, ICIS reports citing a letter to the company to customers.

According to the letter, 4 cents per pound set for September is in addition to the NOVA announced earlier increase of 3 cents per pound (USD66 per tonne) in August.

Contracted PE prices in the United States have been declining for the past two months in a row. Lower contract prices and higher export volumes led to lower margins for polyethylene producers. Buyers may resist the resumption of rising prices, as raw material costs declined for most of the year, while stocks remain in abundance.

PE supplies are growing as the US is in the process of massively increasing PE production, due to cheaper gas-based raw materials.

The industry added about 3.5 million tons per year of new capacity in 2017 and plans to add a similar volume in 2019. Further capacity expansion is planned for the 2020s.

In July, the contract prices for butene-based LDL film were 49-55 cents per pound (USD 1,078-1,210 per tonne), HDPE for blow molding was 52-56 cents per pound (USD1 144-1,232 per tonne), LDPE 56 -60 cents per pound (USD1,232 – 1,320 per ton).

According to the ICIS-MRC Price Review, in Russia, purchasing activity in the local market is low, but demand is stable. The excess supply on the LDPE market is not so serious due to the long downtime of the two manufacturers. In the IPA segment, excess supply remains, but it no longer puts pressure on prices. Last week, both price increases and declines were recorded. Most significantly cheaper LDL C4.

The main producers of polyethylene in the United States are Chevron Phillips Chemical (CP Chem), DowDuPont, LyondellBasell, ExxonMobil, Formosa, INEOS, Total Petrochemicals and Westlake.

Nova Chemical is the largest global company producing polyethylene, styrene polymers, monomers, and many other related products.

NOVA Chemicals, один из крупнейших мировых производителей полиолефинов, объявила о повышении цен полиэтилена (ПЭ) на 4 цента за фунт (USD88 за тонну) с 1 сентября текущего года или по мере того как позволяют контракты, сообщает ICIS со ссылкой на письмо компании клиентам.

Согласно письму, 4 цента за фунт, назначенные на сентябрь, являются дополнением к объявленному NOVA ранее увеличению на 3 цента за фунт (USD66 за тонну) в августе.

Контрактные цены ПЭ в США снижались два последних месяца подряд. Снижение контрактных цен и рост объемов экспорта привели к снижению маржи для производителей полиэтилена. Покупатели могут оказать сопротивление возобновлению роста цен, поскольку расходы на сырье снижались в течение большей части года, а запасы остаются в изобилии.

Поставки ПЭ растут, поскольку США находятся в процессе массового увеличения объема производства ПЭ, что обусловлено более дешевым сырьем на основе газа.

Промышленность добавила около 3,5 млн. тонн в год новых мощностей в 2017 году и планирует добавить аналогичный объем в 2019 году. Дальнейшее расширение мощностей запланировано на 2020-е годы.

В июле контрактные цены пленочного ЛПНП на бутеновой основе составляли 49-55 центов за фунт (USD1 078 — 1 210 за тонну), ПНД для выдувного формования — 52-56 центов за фунт (USD1 144 — 1 232 за тонну), ПВД — 56-60 центов за фунт (USD1 232 — 1 320 за тонну).

Согласно Ценовому Обзору ICIS-MRC, в России покупательская активность на местном рынке невысокая, но спрос стабильный. Избыток предложения на рынке ПВД уже не столь серьезный за счет длительных простоев двух производителей. В сегменте ПНД избыток предложения сохраняется, но он уже не оказывает давление на цены. На прошлой неделе зафиксирован как рост цен, так и снижение. Наиболее существенно подешевел ЛПНП С4.

Основными производителями полиэтилена в США являются Chevron Phillips Chemical (CP Chem), DowDuPont, LyondellBasell, ExxonMobil, Formosa, INEOS, Total Petrochemicals и Westlake.

Nova Chemical — крупнейшая компания мирового масштаба, производитель полиэтилена, стирольных полимеров, мономеров, и множества других сопутствующих продуктов.