American Celanese, the world leader in the production of products based on vinyl acetate and technical polymers, announced an increase in January prices for the brands of ultra high molecular weight polyethylene (PE) for the European market, the press service of the company reported.

Thus, the price increase will come into force on January 1, 2019 and is consistent with the terms of current contracts.

Thus, PE prices of GUR and GHR grades for this region will increase by EUR150 per ton.

Meanwhile, in its message, the company does not specify the reason for the price increase.

According to ICIS-MRC’s Price Review, buying activity on the Russian market was low last week. Some sellers reported that they had already sold all their December PE volumes. Against this background, the decline in prices stopped with a few exceptions. Some manufacturers began negotiations on the January polyethylene prices. On the part of some of them, the prolongation of the December price level without VAT is discussed. From January 1, 2019, the VAT rate increases from 18% to 20%.

Celanese Corporation is an international chemical company, a world leader in the production of acetate-based products, technical polymers, high-performance products and other chemical products. Headquartered in Dallas (Texas, USA), Celanese has about 7 thousand employees worldwide. The company’s sales in 2015 amounted to USD5.7 billion.

Американская Celanese, мировой лидер в области производства продуктов на основе винилацетата и технических полимеров, объявила о повышении январских цен на марки ультравысокомолекулярного полиэтилена (ПЭ) для европейского рынка, сообщила пресс-служба компании.

Так, увеличение цен вступит в силу с 1 января 2019 года и согласуется с условиями текущих контрактов.

Таким образом, цены ПЭ марок GUR and GHR для данного региона вырастут на EUR150 за тонну.

Между тем, в своем сообщении компания не уточняет причину повышения цен.

Согласно Ценовому Обзору ICIS-MRC, на российском рынке покупательская активность на прошлой неделе была невысокой. Некоторые продавцы сообщили, что уже распродали все свои декабрьские объемы ПЭ. На этом фоне снижение цен приостановилось за небольшим исключением. Некоторые производители начали переговоры по январским ценам полиэтилена. Со стороны некоторых из них обсуждается пролонгация декабрьского уровня цен без НДС. С 1-го января 2019 года ставка НДС возрастает с 18% до 20%.

Celanese Corporation — международная химическая компания, является мировым лидером в области производства продуктов на основе ацетата, технических полимеров, продуктов с высокими техническими характеристиками и другой химической продукции. Со штаб-квартирой в Далласе (штат Техас, США), Celanese насчитывает около 7 тыс. сотрудников по всему миру. Объем продаж компании в 2015 году составил USD5,7 млрд.