The contract price of propylene in the United States for shipments in July rose 1.5 cents per pound (USD33 per ton) amid rising prices in the spot market, ICIS reported.

As a result of the reconciliation, July contract prices for polymer grade propylene (PGP) are 38 cents per pound, DEL, and contract prices for chemical propylene grade (CGP) – 36.5 cents per pound, DEL.

Market participants expected prices to rise in July against the backdrop of an uptrend in supply and demand, although trading activity was low in late June and early July.

Spot prices in mid-July rose to 39 cents per pound, which put pressure on July contracts.

Earlier it was reported that stocks of propylene in the US market declined last week by 5.5% compared with a week ago. At the same time, the reserves of propylene fell by 38% compared with the record values ​​of this year, which were recorded at the end of February, as exports grew in relation to the same period a year earlier.

Propylene is the main component for the production of polypropylene (PP).

The total volume of PP production in Russia increased by the results of the first six months of the current year by 4% in comparison with the same indicator of 2018 and amounted to about 732 thousand tons. Four manufacturers of seven increased their capacity utilization.

The main producers of propylene in the United States are Chevron Phillips Chemical, ExxonMobil, Flint Hills Resources and Shell Chemical.

The main customers are Arkema, Ascend Performance Materials, Braskem, Dow Chemical, INEOS, Oxea and Total.

Контрактная цена пропилена в США для поставок в июле выросла на 1,5 цента за фунт (USD33 за тонну) на фоне роста цен на спотовом рынке, сообщает ICIS.

В результате согласования июльские контрактные цены на полимерный сорт пропилена (PGP) составляют 38 центов за фунт, DEL, а контрактные цены на химический сорт пропилена (CGP) — 36,5 центов за фунт, DEL.

Участники рынка ожидали роста цен в июле на фоне восходящего тренда спроса и предложения, хотя торговая активность была низкой в конце июня и начале июля.

Спотовые цены в середине июля выросли до 39 центов за фунт, что оказало давление на июльские контракты.

Ранее сообщалось, что запасы пропилена на американском рынке сократились на прошлой неделе на 5,5% по сравнению с уровнем недельной давности. Вместе с тем, запасы пропилена упали на 38% по сравнению с рекордными значениями этого года, которые были зарегистрированы в конце февраля, так как экспорт вырос по отношению к тому же периоду годом ранее.

Пропилен является основным компонентом для производства полипропилена (ПП).

Суммарный объем производства ПП в России увеличился по итогам первых шести месяцев текущего года на 4% в сравнении с аналогичным показателем 2018 года и составил около 732 тыс. тонн. Нарастили загрузку мощностей четыре производителя из семи.

Основными производителями пропилена в США являются Chevron Phillips Chemical, ExxonMobil, Flint Hills Resources и Shell Chemical.

Основными покупателями являются Arkema, Ascend Performance Materials, Braskem, Dow Chemical, INEOS, Oxea и Total.