The duty of 18% on the import of polyethylene (PE) and polyvinyl chloride (PVC) into Ukraine was suspended on the basis of a decision of the Kyiv District Administrative Court on June 10, a copy of which is available to Market Report.

The decision shall enter into force upon publication of the court decision.

On June 2, the Ukrainian company Subos-Techno filed a lawsuit against the court’s decision of the Ministry of Economic Development, Trade and Agriculture of Ukraine of May 22 on the introduction of import duties on PE and PVC, regardless of country of origin.

During the hearing, it was taken into account that the decision did not take into account the circumstances of the functioning of the polymer market in Ukraine, the interests of manufacturers of finished products from polymers, and the growth of polymer imports to Ukraine was not proved.

Earlier, the Government of Ukraine was contacted by many processors, owners and representatives of manufacturers of the Miroplast, Opentek, Viknaland and Mayado profiles; cable manufacturers Odeskabel, Yuzhkabel, Berdyansk Cable Plant, Intercable Kiev; manufacturers of containers and components “Plant Preform”, “Dnipro Plast”, “Lakma”, as well as manufacturers of wallpaper, film materials and distributors of materials and mixtures (compounds).

As Market Report previously reported, in February Karpatneftekhim LLC initiated a special investigation into the import of polyethylene and polyvinyl chloride into Ukraine. As a result, Ukraine introduced a duty of 18% on imports of polyethylene (PE) and polyvinyl chloride (PVC), regardless of the country of origin and export.

Действие пошлины в размере 18% на импорт полиэтилена (ПЭ) и поливинилхлорида (ПВХ) в Украину приостановлено на основании постановления окружного Административного суда города Киева от 10 июня, копия которого имеется в распоряжении компании Маркет Репорт.

Постановление вступает в силу с момента опубликования решения суда.

Украинская компания «Субос-Техно» 2 июня обратилась в данный суд с иском против постановления Министерства развития экономики, торговли и сельского хозяйства Украины от 22 мая о введении импортных пошлин на ПЭ и ПВХ независимо от страны происхождения.

В ходе слушания было принято во внимание, что при принятии решения не были учтены обстоятельства функционирования рынка полимеров в Украине, интересы производителей готовой продукции из полимеров, а также не был доказан рост импорта полимеров в Украину.

Ранее к Правительству Украины обращались многие переработчики, собственники и представители производителей профиля «Миропласт», «Опентек», «Викналенд» и «Маядо»; производители кабельной продукции «Одескабель», «Южкабель», «Бердянский кабельный завод», «Интеркабель Киев»; производители тары и компонентов «Завод Преформ», «Днипро Пласт», «Лакма», а также производители обоев, пленочных материалов и дистрибьюторы материалов и смесей (компаундов).

Как сообщала Маркет Репорт ранее, в феврале ООО «Карпатнефтехим» добился инициирования специального расследования относительно импорта в Украину полиэтилена и поливинилхлорида. В результате Украина ввела пошлину в размере 18% на импорт полиэтилена (ПЭ) и поливинилхлорида (ПВХ) независимо от страны происхождения и экспорта.