About 26% of the top 100 brands say they want to cut back on plastics, according to Daniel Nordigarden of McKinsey & Company.
If demand for plastics follows its current trajectory, the global volume of plastic scrap can grow “extremely,” Recycling International heard at a recent paper and plastics processing conference in Barcelona. “According to forecasts, these figures will grow from 260 million tons per year in 2016 to 460 million tons per year by 2030,” Nordigard reports.
Currently, an estimated 15% of the world’s plastic scrap is recycled. If it could be brought up to 50%, the plastics processing sector (including petrochemical solutions) could exceed 55 billion euros per year, says Nordigarden. This is a pretty big leap compared to the level of 2018, when revenue was a little over 37 billion.
He adds that most (60%) of the top 100 brands welcome recycled content. About 40% of them want to invest heavily in innovation to achieve an “industry shift” towards sustainable products. Nordigarden mentions the Closed-End Fund competition, which brings together more than 400 leading manufacturers, as a means of selling more rounded products.
“Plastic is not necessarily a problem,” said Victor Sants, CEO of paper and packaging maker Saica Natur. “The real problem is the imbalance between plastics and innovation – in particular, sustainable design and reusability,” he notes. ‘That’s why Saica is all about dispersing round plastics.’

Около 26% из топ-100 брендов говорят, что они хотят сократить производство пластмасс, по словам Даниэля Нордигардена из McKinsey & Company .
Если спрос на пластмассы будет следовать своей текущей траектории, глобальный объем пластикового лома может вырасти «чрезвычайно», Recycling International услышала на недавней конференции по переработке бумаги и пластмасс в Барселоне. «По прогнозам, эти показатели вырастут с 260 млн тонн в год в 2016 году до 460 млн тонн в год к 2030 году», — сообщает Nordigard.
В настоящее время, по оценкам, 15% мирового пластикового лома перерабатывается. Если бы это можно было довести до 50%, то сектор переработки пластмасс (включая нефтехимические решения) мог бы превысить 55 миллиардов евро в год, замечает Nordigarden. Это довольно большой скачок по сравнению с уровнем 2018 года, когда выручка была чуть больше 37 миллиардов.
Он добавляет, что большинство (60%) из топ-100 брендов приветствуют переработанный контент. Около 40% из них хотят инвестировать значительные средства в инновации для достижения «отраслевого сдвига» в сторону устойчивых продуктов. Nordigarden упоминает конкурс Фонда замкнутого цикла, в котором участвуют более 400 ведущих производителей, как средство реализации более круглых продуктов.
«Пластмасса не обязательно является проблемой», — подчеркивает Виктор Санц, генеральный директор производителя бумаги и упаковки Saica Natur. «Реальная проблема заключается в дисбалансе между производством пластмасс и инновациями — в частности, устойчивым дизайном и возможностью повторного использования», — отмечает он. ‘Вот почему Saica все о разгоне круглых пластмасс.’

Источник