The founder of the project “Ukraine without garbage” Evgenia Aratovska commented on the environmental situation in Ukraine and the world.

She noted that the existing statistics that every Ukrainian throws out about 300 kg of garbage per year is true. The ecologist said that, in general, more than 10 million tons of garbage are dumped annually. And it all accumulates from year to year. There is a lot of glass, plastic, metals, such materials that do not decompose for hundreds of thousands of years, the expert added.

She stated that her family of 4 people per month produces only 400 kg of garbage. They try not to create excess garbage, and transfer hazardous waste for recycling.

She advised always to carry fabric bags. Then there will be no need to constantly buy plastic bags in supermarkets. The expert also advises to refuse to pack each individual group of goods in a package, even if the cashier does it himself at the checkout counter in the supermarket.

Ukraine also has a huge problem with landfills. And this problem may concern even such areas as air transportation. The other day, for example, an airplane flying over a landfill fell in the Russian Federation: a huge number of birds got into its engines. These are the seagulls that are known to eat garbage. A similar situation can happen at the Boryspil airport, because it is also located next to a huge dump.

Основательница проекта «Украина без мусора» Евгения Аратовська прокомментировала экологическое состояние в Украине и мире.

Она отметила, что существующая статистика о том, что каждый украинец выбрасывает около 300 кг мусора за год, является правдивой. Эколог заявила, что, в целом, ежегодно более 10 млн тонн мусора попадает на свалки. И это все накапливается из года в год. Там много стекла, пластика, металлов, таких материалов, которые не разлагаются сотни тысяч лет, добавила эксперт.

Она заявила, что ее семья, состоящая из 4 человек в месяц производит только 400 кг мусора. Они стараются не создавать лишнего мусора, а опасные отходы передают на переработку.

Она посоветовала всегда носить с собой мешочки из ткани. Тогда отпадет необходимость постоянно покупать пластиковые пакеты в супермаркетах. Эксперт советует также отказываться от упаковки каждой отдельной группы товаров в пакет, даже если на кассе в супермаркете кассир это делает самостоятельно.

В Украине также существует огромная проблема со свалками. И эта проблема может касаться даже таких сфер, как авиационные перевозки. На днях, например, в РФ упал самолет, пролетавший над свалкой: ему в двигатели попала огромное количество птиц. Это были чайки, которые, как известно, питаются мусором. Подобная ситуация может произойти и в аэропорту Борисполь, ведь он также находится рядом с огромной свалкой.