The new committee of the European Business Association will focus on promoting eco-modernization of enterprises.
February 25, the European Business Association announced the creation of a committee that will deal with industrial ecology and sustainable development. The Committee on Industrial Ecology and Sustainable Development at the European Business Association intends to focus on improving Ukrainian legislation in order to stimulate the environmental modernization of enterprises and improve the environment.

“Representatives of the largest companies in the agricultural, metallurgical, energy, and cement industries of Ukraine have come together under the auspices of the European Business Association to help form a legislative base that would enhance the country’s economic potential without harming the social and environmental spheres,” Stanislav Zinchenko said during the presentation , Head of the Committee on Industrial Ecology and Sustainable Development, Director of GMK Center.

He recalled that only in 2018, Ukrainian enterprises spent $ 1.3 billion on environmental activities. Of these, $ 0.4 billion was capital investment. At the same time, the structure of capital investments in 2018 looked like this:

· $ 129 million to protect the air and climate change;
· $ 62 million for wastewater treatment;
· $ 43 million – for waste management;
· $ 53 million – for the protection and rehabilitation of soil, groundwater and surface water;
· $ 83 million – for other events.

Stanislav Zinchenko, Head of the Committee for Ecology and Sustainable Development, EBA:
“The Committee first of all brought together companies that invest in Ukraine and create added value.

Sustainable development is the current global trend in the world, combining the development of industry and the economy with the development of society and environmental responsibility. All member companies of the Committee contribute to environmental modernization and invest heavily in energy efficiency and regional development. Therefore, our team, which met here, agreed to exchange experience and disseminate it as much as possible from the point of view of environmental practices of enterprises, share their ideas and projects with legislative, executive authorities and regulatory bodies to achieve overall success.

In the Climate Change Performance Index 2020 rating, which evaluates the actions of countries to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, Ukraine received a high rating (60.6 points out of 100 possible), taking 17th place. Unfortunately, this result was achieved due to a drop in production, while the effectiveness of state environmental policy remains low (30.6 points out of 100 according to the Climate Change Performance Index 2020). To increase the effectiveness of environmental policy, the Committee on Industrial Ecology and Sustainable Development sets the following goals:

1. Reducing emissions and environmental pressure. 2. The introduction at the legislative level of a clear mechanism for the phased reduction of pollutant emissions.
3. Change recipients of environmental tax. Priority should be given to local communities and enterprises themselves. All funds raised should be directed exclusively to the implementation of environmental programs and projects.
4. The introduction of the principles of the circular economy and the growing role of the secondary use of resources.
5. Raising the level of knowledge and awareness of key stakeholders and citizens on industrial waste issues.
6. Creating a consistent tax policy that should support positive processes in enterprises and improve their environmental performance.

The European Business Association is the most influential and largest association of Ukrainian business. For more than 20 years, the EBA has been working to resolve issues important to the investment and business climate. According to the results of 2019, the association totaled 1,118 participants. The association names its priorities in 2020: countering the shadow economy, reducing tax pressure on legal businesses, introducing circular economy principles, harmonizing Ukrainian legislation with EU standards, updating labor laws, healthcare, promoting international trade and supporting innovation, as well as encouraging investment attractiveness of Ukraine.

Новый комитет Европейской Бизнес Ассоциации сосредоточится на стимулировании экомодернизации предприятий.
25 февраля, Европейская Бизнес Ассоциация объявила о создании комитета, который будет заниматься вопросами промышленной экологии и устойчивого развития. Комитет по промышленной экологии и устойчивому развитию при Европейской Бизнес Ассоциации намерен сфокусироваться на совершенствовании украинского законодательства, чтобы стимулировать экологическую модернизацию предприятий и улучшить состояние окружающей природной среды.

«Представители крупнейших компаний аграрной, металлургической, энергетической, цементной отраслей Украины объединились под эгидой Европейской Бизнес Ассоциации, чтобы содействовать формированию такой законодательной базы, которая способствовала бы усилению экономического потенциала страны не в ущерб социальной и экологической сферам», – рассказал в ходе презентации Станислав Зинченко, руководитель Комитета по промышленной экологии и устойчивому развитию, директор GMK Center.

Он напомнил, что только в 2018 году украинские предприятия потратили на природоохранную деятельность $1,3 млрд. Из них $0,4 млрд – капитальные инвестиции. При этом структура капитальных инвестиций в 2018 году выглядела таким образом:

·$129 млн – на охрану атмосферного воздуха и проблемы изменения климата;
· $62 млн – на очистку сточных вод;
· $43 млн – на обращение с отходами;
·$53 млн – на защиту и реабилитацию грунта, подземных и поверхностных вод;
· $83 млн – на прочие мероприятия.

Станислав Зинченко, глава Комитета экологии и устойчивого развития, ЕБА:
– Комитет в первую очередь собрал вместе компании, которые инвестируют в Украину, создают добавленную стоимость.

Устойчивое развитие – это актуальный глобальный тренд в мире, сочетающий развитие промышленности и экономики вместе с развитием общества и экологической ответственности. Все компании-члены Комитета вносят свою лепту в экологической модернизации, инвестируют значительные средства в энергоэффективность, региональное развитие. Поэтому наша команда, которая встретилась здесь, договорилась обмениваться опытом и максимально его распространять с точки зрения экологической практики предприятий, делиться своими идеями и проектами с органами законодательной, исполнительной власти и контролирующих органов для достижения общего успеха.

В рейтинге Climate Change Performance Index 2020, оценивающем действия стран по снижению выбросов парниковых газов, Украина получила высокую оценку (60,6 баллов из 100 возможных), заняв 17-е место. К сожалению, такой результат достигнут за счет падения производства, тогда как эффективность государственной экологической политики остается низкой (30,6 баллов из 100 по версии Climate Change Performance Index 2020). Чтобы повысить эффективность экологической политики, Комитет по промышленной экологии и устойчивому развитию ставит перед собой следующие цели:

1. Уменьшение выбросов и давления на окружающую среду. 2. Внедрение на законодательном уровне четкого механизма поэтапного сокращения выбросов загрязняющих веществ.
3. Изменение реципиентов экологического налога. Приоритет должен предоставляться местным общинам и самим предприятиям. Все собранные средства должны направляться исключительно на осуществление экологических программ и проектов.
4. Внедрение принципов циркулярной экономики и рост роли вторичного использования ресурсов.
5. Повышение уровня знаний и осведомленности ключевых стейкхолдеров и граждан по проблематике промышленных отходов.
6. Создание последовательной налоговой политики, которая должна поддерживать позитивные процессы на предприятиях и улучшать их экологические показатели.

Европейская Бизнес Ассоциация – наиболее влиятельное и крупнейшее объединение украинского бизнеса. Более 20 лет ЕБА работает над решением важных для инвестиционного и бизнес-климата вопросов. По итогам 2019 года объединение насчитывало 1118 участников. Среди своих приоритетов в 2020 году объединение называет: противодействие теневой экономике, снижение налогового давления на легальный бизнес, внедрение принципов circular economy, гармонизацию законодательства Украины с нормами ЕС, обновление трудового законодательства, здравоохранение, содействие развитию международной торговли и поддержку инноваций, а также стимулирование инвестиционной привлекательности Украины.

Источник