Trinseo (formerly Styron), a major European producer of polystyrene (PS), has reduced production utilization at a polystyrene plant at its Tessenderlo site (Tessenderlo, Belgium) due to a shortage of styrene raw materials, Polymerupdate reports.

According to market sources, this production with a capacity of 265 thousand tons of PS per year began to experience a shortage of styrene raw materials from mid-August this year due to problems in the company’s styrene production in Terneuzen (Terneuzen, Netherlands).

Sources say that the problem with the supply of raw materials can be resolved in the current month.

In September, it became known that Ineos Styrolution and Trinseo are planning to build the first of its kind plant in Europe for the recycling of PS waste. The partners combined their efforts and resources for the implementation of the project for the construction of an industrial production for the processing of substation waste after an assessment study of its profitability. After the launch, the new plant will be able to process up to 50 tons of raw materials per day.

According to the DataScope of Market Report, import shipments of substations to Russia increased by 13% in August this year and reached a maximum value of 12.35 thousand tons this year compared to 10.93 thousand tons last year. In relation to July of this year (10.55 thousand tons), this indicator showed an increase of 17%. And for the period January – August 2019, the import of substations in the Russian Federation grew by 11% to 80.5 thousand tons against 72.4 thousand tons for the same period last year.

Trinseo (formerly Styron), headquartered in Horgeng, Switzerland, is Europe’s largest producer of polystyrene, emulsion polymers, polycarbonate and synthetic rubbers. Starting February 1, 2015, Styron changed its name to Trinseo.

Компания Trinseo (ранее Styron), крупный европейский производитель полистирола (ПС), снизила загрузку производства на заводе по выпуску полистирола на площадке в Тессендерло (Tessenderlo, Бельгия) из-за нехватки сырья стирола, сообщает Polymerupdate.

По словам источников на рынке, данное производство мощностью 265 тыс. тонн ПС в год стало испытывать нехватку сырья стирола с середины августа текущего года из-за проблем на производстве стирола компании в городе Тернейзене (Terneuzen, Нидерланды).

Источники отмечают, что проблема с поставками сырья может быть разрешена в текущем месяце.

В сентябре стало известно, что Ineos Styrolution и компания Trinseo планируют построить первый в своем роде завод в Европе по рециклингу отходов ПС. Партнеры объединили свои усилия и ресурсы для реализации проекта по строительству промышленного производства по переработке отходов ПС после проведения оценочного исследования его рентабельности. После запуска новый завод сможет перерабатывать до 50 тонн сырья в день.

Согласно ДатаСкопу компании Маркет Репорт, импортные поставки ПС в Россию увеличились в августе текущего года на 13% и достигли максимальной в этом году величины — 12,35 тыс. тонн против 10,93 тыс. тонн в прошлом году. По отношению же к июлю этого года (10,55 тыс. тонн) данный показатель показал прирост на 17%. А за период январь — август 2019 года импорт ПС в РФ вырос на 11% до 80,5 тыс. тонн против 72,4 тыс. тонн за аналогичный период прошлого года.

Trinseo (ранее Styron), со штаб-квартирой в Хоргенге, Швейцария, является крупнейшим европейским производителем полистирола, эмульсионных полимеров, поликарбоната и синтетических каучуков. С 1 февраля 2015 года компания Styron изменила свое названия на Trinseo.