The Brazilian Polymer Association Abiplast has asked the government to cancel anti-dumping duties on imported polyvinyl chloride (PVC) due to a shortage of raw materials, according to ICIS.

The problem of raw materials is related to stopping the production of chlor-alkali capacities of the local manufacturer Braskem, products from which are supplied for the production of ethylene dichloride and vinyl chloride monomer (VCM) for the further production of PVC.

Braskem ceased mining at its salt mine for safety reasons after reporting from the Brazilian Geological Survey (CPRM), which said that salt mining led to cracks and subsidence in the surrounding neighborhoods of Pinheiro, Mutanzhe and Bebedoru.

The Alagoas State Environmental Protection Agency and the National Mining Agency banned companies from further mining at the mine and fined Braskem nearly USD7.5 million (29.4 million reais).

Abiplast submitted a request to the Ministry of Economy, citing the risk of a shortage of raw materials if the shutdown of Braskem activities continues.

The request also contains a requirement for the termination of the anti-dumping duties on other polymers, such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), which is used mainly in the production of water bottles.

Industry players expect the government to make a decision this week.

For almost 30 years, polymer imports into Brazil were subject to high import duties, which made PVC imports from other countries, such as the United States, too unprofitable to compete in this country.

PVC from the USA is subject to 16% of anti-dumping duties, as well as 14% of import duties. Other import expenses are about 4%. PVC from Colombia or Argentina does not apply anti-dumping or import duties.

Brazil has two PVC makers: Unipar Carbocloro and Braskem. The remaining Latin American PVC producers are Unipar Indupa in Argentina, Mexichem in Mexico and Colombia and Pequiven in Venezuela, which ceased production due to political problems.

US PVC makers include OxyVinyls, Shintech, Westlake Chemical, and Formosa Plastics.

According to ICIS-MRC’s Price Review, deals for May supplies of suspension polyvinyl chloride (PVC-S) for CIS markets from Europe were in the range of EUR720-805 per tonne, FCA, while a month earlier, the deals were in the range of EUR710-785 per tone, FCA .

Бразильская ассоциация полимеров Abiplast обратилась к правительству с просьбой отменить антидемпинговые пошлины в отношении импортного поливинилхлорида (ПВХ) из-за нехватки сырья, сообщает ICIS.

Проблема сырья связана с остановкой производства хлорщелочных мощностей местного производителя Braskem, продукция с которого поставляется для выпуска этилендихлорида и винилхлоридного мономера (ВХМ) для дальнейшего производства ПВХ.

Braskem прекратил добычу на своем соляном руднике по соображениям безопасности после сообщения от Бразильской геологической службы (CPRM), в котором говорилось, что добыча соли привела к появлению трещин и оседанию в близлежащих окрестностях Пиньейру, Мутанже и Бебедору.

Агентство по охране окружающей среды штата Алагоас и Национальное горнодобывающее агентство запретили компании дальнейшую добычу соли на руднике и оштрафовали Braskem почти на USD7,5 млн ( 29,4 млн реалов).

Abiplast представил запрос в Министерство экономики, сославшись на риск нехватки сырья, если остановка деятельности Braskem продолжится.

В запросе также содержится требование о прекращении действия антидемпинговых пошлин на другие полимеры, такие как полиэтилентерефталат (ПЭТ), который используются в основном при производстве бутылок для воды.

Игроки отрасли ожидают, что правительство примет решение на этой неделе.

В течение почти 30 лет импорт полимеров в Бразилию облагался высокими ввозными пошлинами, что делало импорт ПВХ из других стран, таких как США, слишком невыгодным, чтобы конкурировать в этой стране.

На ПВХ из США распространяются 16% антидемпинговых пошлин, а также 14% импортных пошлин. Прочие импортные расходы составляют около 4%. На ПВХ из Колумбии или Аргентины не применяются антидемпинговые или импортные пошлины.

В Бразилии два производителя ПВХ: Unipar Carbocloro и Braskem. Остальные латиноамериканские производители ПВХ — это Unipar Indupa в Аргентине, Mexichem в Мексике и Колумбии и Pequiven в Венесуэле, которая прекратила производство из-за политических проблем.

Американские производители ПВХ включают OxyVinyls, Shintech, Westlake Chemical и Formosa Plastics.

Согласно Ценовому Обзору ICIS-MRC, сделки относительно майских поставок суспензионного поливинилхлорида (ПВХ-С) для рынков стран СНГ из Европы заключались в диапазоне EUR720-805 за тонну, FCA, тогда как месяцем ранее сделки заключались в диапазоне EUR710-785 за тону, FCA.