October contract prices for acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) in Europe rose by EUR20 per tonne due to limited supply and strong demand during the month, despite the decline in the price of styrene feedstock, ICIS reported.

Thus, in October, the contract prices of styrene in Europe decreased by EUR33 per ton. At the same time, contracts for butadiene raw materials increased by EUR40 per tonne, and contract prices for acrylonitrile (ACN) in October decreased by EUR10 per tonne.

It is noteworthy that the ABS spot market experienced even greater price increases than the contract market due to production problems of suppliers.

Lack of ABS supply is a major concern in the fourth quarter, as some players are forced to restrict supplies due to lack of materials. Suppliers were also known to be selling out materials earlier than expected, in part due to backlog of orders since September.

Availability is also limited due to the constant lack of imports from Asia and high demand in both Europe and Asia.

Demand in October is generally better than in September, especially in the downstream sectors, including furniture and household appliances, and toys and electronics.

According to MRC’s ScanPlast, in the Russian ABS sector in July, the estimated consumption increased by 13% compared to July last year and amounted to 4.30 thousand tons (3.79 thousand tons in 2019).

Октябрьские контрактные цены акрилонитрил-бутадиен-стирола (АБС) в Европе выросли на EUR20 за тонну из-за ограниченного предложения и хорошего спроса в течение месяца, несмотря на снижение цены сырья стирола, сообщает ICIS.

Так, в октябре контрактные цены стирола в Европе снизились на EUR33 за тонну. При этом контракты на сырье бутадиен увеличились на EUR40 за тонну, а контрактные цены акрилонитрила (AКН) в октябре снизились на EUR10 за тонну.

Примечательно, что на спотовом рынке АБС наблюдался даже больший рост цен, чем тот, который был на контрактном рынке, из-за производственных проблем поставщиков.

Нехватка предложения АБС является основной проблемой в четвертом квартале, поскольку некоторые игроки вынуждены ограничивать поставки из-за нехватки материалов. Также было известно, что поставщики распродают материалы раньше, чем ожидалось, отчасти из-за отставания по заказам с сентября.

Доступность также ограничена из-за постоянного отсутствия импорта из Азии и высокого спроса как в Европе, так и в Азии.

Спрос в октябре в целом лучше, чем в сентябре, особенно в секторах переработки и сбыта, включая производство мебели и бытовой техники, а также игрушек и и электроники.

Согласно СканПласту компании Маркет Репорт, в российском секторе АБС в июле расчетное потребление выросло на 13% по сравнению с июлем прошлого года и составило 4,30 тыс. тонн (3,79 тыс. тонн в 2019 году).