Rising prices of polyethylene high pressure (LDPE) in foreign markets and limited supply in the domestic market led to a rise in prices in Ukraine. In the near future the situation on the LDPE market may deteriorate, according to a price review ICIS-MRC.

In March, many Ukrainian companies are faced with a limited supply of high-pressure polyethylene from the major suppliers – manufacturers of Russia and Belarus. The lack of a seasonal surge in demand and large carryover stocks from February LDPE purchases allowed to avoid shortage in the market this month, but the prices at the end of March, all the same rose. In April, it is expected to even more cuts in export quotas by the major suppliers, which will trigger a further rise in prices.

In early March, the transaction for the supply of Russian and Belarusian LDPE in the Ukrainian market were concluded in the range of 38 500-40 000 UAH per ton, including VAT, CPT Kiev. By the end of the month, prices of some suppliers have grown to the level of 44 000 UAH per ton, including VAT, CPT Kiev. It led to higher prices as a lack of supply and significant price growth in Belarus.

Some market participants have expressed concerns about the April because Russian producers do not plan to deliver JHA in Ukraine due to the upcoming stops on prevention. Belarusian producer is also more focused on the Russian market and is unlikely to fully compensate for the lack of supplies from Russia.

Alternatively, you can consider the European LDPE. However, it is significantly more expensive and European manufacturers are unlikely to significantly increase supplies to Ukraine. At the same time in April, it is expected to rise in prices of LDPE in Europe EUR50-80 per tonne.

Рост цен полиэтилена высокого давление (ПВД) на внешних рынках и ограниченное предложение на внутреннем рынке привели к росту цен в Украине. В ближайшее время ситуация на рынке ПВД может ухудшиться.
В марте многие украинские компании столкнулись с ограниченным предложением полиэтилена высокого давления у основных поставщиков — производителей из России и Беларуси. Отсутствие сезонного всплеска спроса и большие переходящие запасы ПВД с февральских закупок позволили избежать дефицита на рынке в текущем месяце, но цены к концу марта все же выросли. В апреле ожидается еще большее урезание экспортных квот со стороны основных поставщиков, что спровоцирует дальнейший рост цен.

В начале марта сделки на поставки российского и белорусского ПВД на украинском рынке заключались в диапазоне 38 500-40 000 грн за тонну, с учетом НДС, СРТ Киев. К концу месяца цены у некоторых поставщиков выросли до уровня 44 000 грн за тонну, с учетом НДС, СРТ Киев. К росту цен привел как недостаток предложения, так и серьезный рост цен в Беларуси.

Отдельные участники рынка высказывают опасения относительно апреля, поскольку российские производители не планируют поставлять ПВД в Украину в силу предстоящих остановок на профилактику. Белорусский производитель также больше сфокусирован на российский рынок и вряд ли сможет в полном объеме восполнить недостаток поставок из России.

В качестве альтернативы можно рассматривать европейский ПВД. Однако он существенно дороже и европейские производители вряд ли смогут существенно увеличить поставки в Украину. При этом в апреле ожидается рост цен ПВД в Европе на EUR50-80 за тонну.